Contemporary Trends in Optics 2017

Contemporary Trends in Optics 2017 (CoOpt-2017) is a two-day conference being organized from 18-19 December, 2017 at the Mohanpur campus of the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata (IISER-K). The conference is being jointly organized by the SPIE Student Chapter IISER-K, OSA Student Chapter IISER-K, along with the Center of Excellence in Space Sciences India (CESSI), with support from IISER-K. There will be four technical sessions: (a) Classical optics (b) Biophotonics (c) Quantum optics and (d) Space optics. The lectures in these sessions will be delivered by distinguished researchers from India and abroad. Besides, there will also be sessions for student talks and poster presentations. Prizes will be awarded in both categories.
December is among the best months to visit IISER-K since we have excellent weather. Hope to see you in CoOpt 2017!

Important dates

Registration opens1st Nov, 2017
Registration closes25th Nov, 2017
Registration fee payment opens26th Nov, 2017
Registration fee payment closes5th Dec, 2017
Conference date 18th-19th Dec, 2017

Invited Speakers

Giovanni Volpe
University of Gothenburg

Subhasish Dutta Gupta
University of Hyderabad

Fabien Bretenecker
French National Centre for
Scientific Research, Paris

Bimalendu Deb
Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata

Basudev Roy
IIT Madras

Saikat Ghosh
IIT Kanpur

A.N. Ramaprakash

Shourya Dutta Gupta
IIT Hyderabad

Sushil Mujumdar
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research

Renu John
IIT Hyderabad

Shibu K Mathew
Udaipur Solar Observatory, PRL

Programme Schedule

Programme schedule will be updated soon.


Registration Details:

Please read all the registration details carefully before filling up the registration form.

Registration fees for various categories of participants are as follows:-

1. No fee for SPIE, OSA, CESSI affiliated students (Limited number available).
2. INR 1000 for all other students (including undergraduates, graduates).
3. INR 2500 for other participants (including Post-Doctoral researchers, Faculty members, and others).

All interested in participation are requested to fill up the registration form.

All participants are encouraged to submit a ~200 word technical abstract for poster presentation. There are a few slots for oral presentations as well, but the final selection for those will additionally depend on the seniority of the applicant other than the technical content. The deadline for abstract submission is also November 25, 2017. In case the number of applications exceed the number of participants planned for, priority will be given to applications accompanied by an abstract.

All selected participants will be informed about their selection through email. Please note that submission of abstract(s) does not ensure confirmation of participation. Participants will be selected by the Scientific advisory committee (of the workshop) on the basis of the submitted abstracts.

The link to the payment portal will be put up on the website shortly and will be sent to all participants in an email which will follow soon. The payment of REGISTRATION FEES should be done only after receiving a registration confirmation email from organizers.

Please note that registration is complete only after the payment is made successfully. Participants will be informed about their successful registration by a confirmation email from the organizers.

Please note that REGISTRATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. This is final decision of the organizing committee and no requests for refund will be entertained in the future.

Registration fees includes in-campus accommodation on shared basis from 17-19 December, 2017 (both nights inclusive).

Breakfast, lunch, dinner coupons (including a banquet dinner on 18th December) during the duration (2 Days) of the conference is included within the registration fees.

Please read all the instructions carefully, before advancing to fill up the google form. Contact us in case you encounter any difficulties.


Scientific Organizing Committee
Ayan Banerjee
Nirmalya Ghosh
Dibyendu Nandi

Local Organizing Committee
Subhrokoli Ghosh
Sudipta Saha
Shuvojit Paul
Amar Deo Chandra
Souvik Sil
Subir Kumar Ray
Shubham Chandel
Ankit Kumar Singh
Athira B. S.
Avijit Kundu
Rohan Eugene Louis
Prosenjit Lahiri
Nabamita Das
Debapriya Pal
Vinay Pareek
Mandira Pal
Antariksha Das
Rajib dey
Aneeth K Arun
Randhir Kumar
Roshan Tiwari




Sudipta (+91 9062194553)
Shubham (+91 9564683615)
Subhrokoli (+91 9563045866)

How to reach IISER Kolkata:

IISER Kolkata is located near Haringhata in Nadia district. The nearest local station, Kalyani, is located on the Sealdah-Kalyani main line. One may take a local train from Sealdah or Dumdum station in Kolkata to Kalyani. From there, bus or auto services are available to Gate no. 7 stop towards Bara Jaguli where IISER-K main gate is located. Alternatively, one may take prepaid taxi from airport to Haringhata via National Highway 34. The distance is about 50 km. More details are available here.

Please refer to IISER Kolkata in Google maps here.