32nd meeting of Indian Association for General Relativity and Gravitation (IAGRG32)
Dec 19-21, 2022 @IISER Kolkata

Indian Association for General Relativity and Gravitation (IAGRG) was constituted in 1969 and has been active ever since in fostering general relativity related activities in the country. In particular, at the national level the IAGRG meeting is organised every two years to bring together the researchers in the field. The IAGRG meetings are held at various locations in the country and here is the list of past IAGRG meetings.

The Department of Physical Sciences (DPS) of IISER Kolkata will be organising the 32nd meeting of IAGRG with the theme "Tensions in Standard Cosmology" during December 19-21, 2022. The meeting will have a set of plenary talks as well as the parallel sessions for contributed papers.

Here is the poster of the meeting.

Anupreeta More (IUCAA, Pune)
Shriharsh Tendulkar (TIFR, Mumbai)
Shabnam Iyyanni (IISER TVM)
Ranjan Laha (IISc, Bangalore)
Susmita Adhikari (IISER Pune)
Prayush Kumar (ICTS, Bangalore)
Tapabrata Sarkar (IIT Kanpur)
Kinjalk Lochan (IISER Mohali)
Eleonora Di Valentino (University of Sheffield, UK)
Classical and Quantum Gravity
Sudipta Sarkar (IIT Gandhinagar)
Amitabh Virmani (CMI, Chennai)
Sudipta Das (Visva-Bharati)
Surhud S More (IUCAA, Pune)
Gravitational Waves
Debarati Chatterjee (IUCAA, Pune)
Chandrakant Misra (IIT Madras)
Relativistic Astrophysics
Aru Beri (IISER Mohali)
Varun Bhalerao (IIT Bombay)

Please note that you can submit title and abstracts for oral/poster presentations under Talk/Poster tab in your conference account.

  • Registration opens: August 18, 2022
  • Registration closes: November 1, 2022
  • Abstract submission closes: November 1, 2022
  • Deadline for registration fee waiver request: November 1, 2022

In order to participate in the conference, it is mandatory to register in the conference portal by creating an account. There you would need to provide some basic information. To complete the registration process, you would also need to pay the registration fee online as given below (unless your registration fee is waived).

Registration fee *:

  • Faculty members: INR 6000
  • Postdocs: INR 5000
  • PhD/MS Students: INR 4000
  • Others: INR 6000
* Online payment will be handled through SBI ePay payment gateway. Depending on your choice of payment mode, you may have to pay additional bank/service charges. Currently, there are no additional charges for using UPI (BHIM or similar) mode.

The registration fee is refundable, sans bank/administrative charges, until Nov 15, 2022. It is non-refundable thereafter.

The registration fee includes all meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner and tea/coffee/snacks) during the conference, conference kits and transportation between the conference venue and the listed hotels. Please note that the registration fee does not include accommodation.

We have a limited amount of fund to support waiver of registration fee for a few deserving participants, primarily PhD students, college teachers. In case you would like to apply for the fee waiver, please write to the conference email address with supporting details, after you have filled up the registration forms except for making the payment.

The confirmed list of registered participants will be published on this website.

Please click here to Login / Register as a Participant.


IISER Kolkata campus is located near the town of Kalyani, at a distance of around 40 km from the Kolkata airport, with limited options for accommodation.

We have negotiated a discounted rate with a few local hotels which are closer to the campus as listed below. The participants are requested to contact these hotels directly and book their accommodations. In order to get the discounted rate, please mention "IISER-IAGRG" while booking. Please note that we shall arrange local pick-up/drop to the conference venue only from these hotels.

In addition, we have arranged shared, rent-free accommodation primarily for the students/postdocs at IISER Kolkata student hostels with shared bathrooms. 

The accommodation for the invited speakers will be arranged at the IISER Kolkata campus guest house.

After you have booked/chosen your accommodation option, please update about the same in the Accommodation tab of your conference account. Please note that without this information it will not be possible for us to arrange your pick-up/drop to the conference venue.

It is advisable to book these hotels at the earliest in order to avail the set of blocked rooms.

Suggested Hotels:

  1. The Dolphin Palace (1.0 km from the campus)
    • Deluxe (Single): Rs. 1900
    • Suite (Single): Rs. 2850
    • Premium suite (Single): Rs. 3350
    • Deluxe Twin Bed (Double occupancy): Rs. 2800
    *applicable taxes extra
    Contact: B Haldar 
    Mobile/Whatsapp - 9083250165
    Email: thedolphinpalace@gmail.com
    Address: Balindi, Mohanpur, Haringhata, Nadia, West Bengal- 741246
    Location: in Google Maps

  2. Akshara Regency (4.1 km from the campus)
    • Standard: Rs. 1500 
    • Standard Deluxe: Rs. 1875
    • Deluxe & Super Deluxe: Rs. 2250
      *applicable taxes extra
    Contact: Tapan Kumar Das
    Mobile/Whatsapp - 9330530281
    Email: theakshararegency@gmail.com
    Address: Anandanagar Highway, beside Indian Oil Petrol Pump, crossing the Phoenix factory, Kalyani, West Bengal 741234
    Location: in Google Maps
We may add another few accommodation options later, if needed.


The meeting will be held at the IISER Kolkata campus at Mohanpur, Dist. Nadia, WB, India. Here is the campus location in Google Maps. You may book your train/flight ticket accordingly.

  • Nearest Airport: NSCBI Airport, Kolkata (CCU) (40 km from campus)
  • Nearest Major Railway Stations: Sealdah (SDAH), Kolkata (KOAA), Howrah (HWH), Santragachi (SRC) and Shalimar (SHM) (upto 58 km from campus)
  • Nearest Railway Station: Kalyani (KYI) (7 km from campus)
After you have booked your flight/train ticket, please update the Travel tab in your conference account to keep us in the loop about your travel plan.

The detailed and specific instructions for reaching our campus from airport/railheads will be put up in the website closer to the dates of the conference.

The academic programme for the conference will be available in due course.
Parameswaran Ajith (ICTS, Bangalore)
Narayan Banerjee (IISER Kolkata)
Suchetana Chatterjee (Presidency University, Kolkata)
Shantunu Desai (IIT Hyderabad)
Harvinder Kaur Jassal (IISER Mohali)
Bhaswati Mookerjea (TIFR, Mumbai)
Anjan A Sen (CTP, JMI, Delhi) (SOC Chair)
S Shankaranarayanan (IIT Bombay)
Narayan Banerjee (IISER Kolkata) (LOC Chair)
Ananda Dasgupta (IISER Kolkata)
Koushik Dutta (IISER Kolkata) (Convener)
Amit Ghosh (SINP Kolkata)
Golam M Hossain (IISER Kolkata)
Biswarup Mukhopadhyay (IISER Kolkata)
Dibyendu Nandi (IISER Kolkata)
Rajesh K Nayak (IISER Kolkata)
Jyoti Prasad Saha (Kalyani University)
Ritesh K Singh (IISER Kolkata)

You may contact us at:

  • LOC Chair: iagrg32 @ iiserkol.ac.in
  • Phone: +91-33 6136 0000 extn: 1163 (during office hours)