... towards excellence in science

An Autonomous Institution, Under the Ministry of Education, Government of India


Internal Complaints Committee (ICC)

IISER Kolkata has an active Internal Complaints Committee (ICC) constituted as per the mandate of the The Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013. The main functions and objectives of the ICC are to:

  • Hear and address complaints regarding sexual harassment at IISER Kolkata

  • Spread awareness about gender-related issues and functioning of the ICC.

  • Uphold the dignity of women

  • Facilitate a gender-sensitive and congenial working environment free of gender- specific discrimination or sexual harassment

  • Ensure that victims and witnesses are not victimized or discriminated against because of lodging such complaints

  • Take proactive measures to educate the IISER Kolkata community about gender-sensitivity

Members of the Internal Complaints Committee of IISER Kolkata:



E-Mail ID

Dr. Neelanjana Sengupta, Associate Professor, DBS


cash.convener [At], n.sengupta[At]

Dr. Snehasikta Swarnakar, Senior Principal Scientist,
IICB Kolkata
External Member  
Dr. Radhika Venkatesan, Assistant Professor, DBS Member rv[At]

Dr. Swastika Chatterjee, Assistant Professor, DES



Dr. Arnab Gupta, Assistant Professor, DBS  



Dr. Suman De Sarkar, Assistant Professor, DCS



Dr. Parna Gupta, Scientific Officer, DCS

Member parna[At]

Ms. Debshruti Biswas (18MS141)

Student Member      db18ms141[At]

Mr. Debajyoti Guha (19RS013)

Student Member      dg19rs013[At]

Dr. Surashree Dutta, Junior Translation Officer

Member Secretary surashree[At], iiserk.csh[At]


Following are the terms of reference/operational modality for the ICC:

  1. a) The committee will admit complaints from:

  1. Female employees on harassment and discrimination in the workplace by other employees.

  2. Female students of harassment and discrimination in the classroom and in relation to academic activities by faculty and staff.

  3. Female residents on harassment, assault and other forms of misbehaviour by employees.

  4. Any transgender person who identifies herself as a woman, on harassement, assault, discrimination, and other forms of misbehaviour.

  5. Any complaint which does not fall into above categories will not be dealt by the committee.

b) The committee will follow relevant Acts, Rules, OM of Government of India and Court Orders etc. as applicable from time to time.

c) The Committee may institute an Enquiry Committee as per advice of the Director to examine particular complaint/s.

d) The Committee will make recommendation to the Director on actions to be taken on specific complaints.

2. The concerned head (DoFA in case of Faculty, Registrar in case of Non-teaching staff members) will be included in the Committee as invitee.

3. The Committee will submit its report to the Director.

Handbook on Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace