... towards excellence in science

An Autonomous Institution, Under the Ministry of Education, Government of India

Sayan Bhattacharyya

Dept: Chemical Sciences (DCS)
E-mail: sayanb [at]
Personal homepage: Click Here

Research Interest:

The Advanced Functional Materials Laboratory (AFML) led by Prof. Sayan Bhattacharyya focuses on an interdisciplinary research on functional nanomaterials. The current research interests are: (A) Photovoltaics: Nanocrystal-assisted Metal-halide Perovskite Solar Cells; (B) Electrocatalytic and Photocatalytic Hydrogen Generation, N2 & CO2 Reduction; (C) Zinc-air Battery and Photorechargeable battery.

Academic Background:

  1. Ph. D. (Solid State Chemistry ), Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IIT Kanpur), 2006
  2. M. Sc. (Physical Chemistry), Department of Chemistry (University of Kalyani), 1998
  3. B. Sc. (Honours) (Chemistry (H), Physics (P), Mathematics (P)), Maulana Azad College (University of Calcutta), 1996


  1. Professor, IISER Kolkata (current)
  2. Associate Professor, IISER Kolkata (2015 - 2019)
  3. Assistant Professor, IISER Kolkata (2010 - 2015)
  4. Postdoctoral Researcher, Drexel Nanotechnology Institute, Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA, USA (2008 - 2010)
  5. Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Chemistry, Bar-Ilan University, Ramat-Gan, Israel (2006 - 2008)

Selected Publications:

  1. Mandal, A.; Hazra, V. and Bhattacharyya, S.. 2023."Perovskite Nanostructure Films for Optoelectronics and Photovoltaics." J. Phys. Chem. C, 127, 11767-79
  2. Kandoth, N.; Chaudhary, S. P.; Gupta, S.; Raksha, K.; Chatterjee, A.; Gupta, S.; Karuthedath, S.; De Castro, C. S. P.; Laquai, F.; Pramanik, S. K.; Bhattacharyya, S.; Mallick, A. I. and Das, A.. 2023."Multimodal Biofilm Inactivation Using a Photocatalytic Bismuth Perovskite-TiO2-Ru(II)polypyridyl-based Multisite Heterojunction." ACS Nano, 17, 10393-406
  3. Mondal, S.; Dutta, S.; Mal, S.; Pati, S. K. and Bhattacharyya, S.. 2023."Lattice Mismatch Guided Nickel-Indium Heterogeneous Alloy Electrocatalysts for Promoting the Alkaline Hydrogen Evolution." Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 62, e202301269
  4. Parvin, S.; Bothra, N.; Dutta, S.; Maji, M.; Mura, M.; Kumar, A.; Chaudhary, D. K.; Rajput, P.; Kumar, M.; Pati, S. K. and Bhattacharyya, S.. 2023."Inverse 'Intra-Lattice' Charge Transfer in Nickel-Molybdenum Dual Electrocatalysts Regulated by Under-coordinating the Molybdenum Center." Chem. Sci., 14, 3056-3069
  5. Bag, S.; Sasmal, H. S.; Chaudhary, S. P.; Dey, K.; Blätte, D.; Blätte, D.; Guntermann, R.; Guntermann, R.; Zhang, Y.; Zhang, Y.; Položij, M.; Položij, M.; Kuc, A.; Shelke, A.; Vijayaraghavan, R. K.; Vijayaraghavan, R. K.; Ajithkumar, T. G.; Bhattacharyya, S.; Heine, T.; Heine, T.; Bein, T.; Bein, T. and Banerjee, R.. 2023."Covalent Organic Framework Thin-film Photodetectors from Solution Processable Porous Nanospheres." J. Am. Chem. Soc., 145, 1649-1659

All Publications: Click Here